top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Kenny

Life Drawing Week 7

This week I returned to Colour pencil, but with a twist. These pencils could be water activated! This proved an interesting way to add subtle shading to the first piece here imparticular. This first drawing is probably my favourite of the session this week. It has some strong linework, and both figures are nicely represented on the page.

For this second page, a story was being told, of a dramatic gondola encounter. Upon reflection, I'm a little disappointed that it doesn't read very well as the first drawing is on the right-hand side. But apart from that I'm happy with the drawings and enjoyed the storytelling exercise.

This page features two poses that were sequenced together.

For my personal practice this week I was inspired by the work of Jan-Hendrik Pelz.

Particularly a project of his called “Favorites”. Where he asked 66 artists to pick their favourite movies and a random timecode from the film. Jan then painted the still of whatever was on the screen at the time.

In the spirit of Jan's work, I decided to draw two stills from 1st the game "Red Dead Redemption 2", and then the movie "1917"

I had varying success. I liked and put the most time into the first drawing.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page