top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Kenny

Life drawing week 9

Updated: Dec 13, 2021

This week I decided to use a pencil. We had the two models together today which made for some more unique poses.


My favourite of these was this first one. I feel It captures the mood of the pose particularly well. Which to me is one of fright and reliance. The drawing is realized well overall. For some reason, I couldn't get his right foot to look right!


Looking back on this drawing, I'm now seeing that it probably need a bit more time to really fully utilize those dark tones I found in the legs. It may be the case that I didn't utilize the time as well as I could have. But it works well enough as a representation of the scene.

Linework here was a bit messy.

The big issue here which I can't seem to avoid sometimes was small head syndrome. It was definitely the case that I was more focused on one figure over the other.

For personal practice this week I tried to utilize the methodology of Henry Moore's Shelter Sketch-Book. they're a harrowing collection of sketchy messy dark ink drawings depicting citizens sheltering in the underground from bombing in WW2 London.

take a look here:


Overall I don't think I managed to capture the style entirely. But It proved an interesting exercise in that I didn't have to be too conscious of my mark-making. Instead, focusing on feel and texture.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page