top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Kenny

Life Drawing Week 10

Updated: Dec 13, 2021

This week I started off with ink but decided to change tack after a few less than successful attempts.

Landing on the cromicolour animation pencil. I'm happy with the drawings that followed.

They've got some nice loose linework, and the pencil made it easy for me to add some considered shading decisions. They could have maybe used a bit more tonal variation.


Something I was conscious of when drawing was making sure the throughline or the line of action could be felt in the drawings.

I've included this page as I liked how the pose at the bottom turned out. However, some of the other poses couldn't be found in time.

This week's artistic inspirations were the Henri Matisse cutouts. Apart from being one of the main names in the impressionist movement, Matisse was also known to create elegant cutouts in his spare time. One example of which were these:


So I took it upon myself to draw a few life drawing poses in this style.

It's fair to say however that I was limited in the materials and capability at the time to potentially make cutouts and do the form justice. But the exercise still proved a fun and engaging way to break down the form of the poses.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page