top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Kenny

Life Drawing Week 5

This week I went back to basics with a graphite pencil. I thought it might help me in adding a soft tone to my work.


Here's a page filled with quick poses. I'm quite happy with the gesture in most of the figures. I like the chaotic nature of the page, and that's why I kept it.


Decided to go in close for this portrait for a change. I think the drawing has a nice angular quality, and the pose was giving the impression of strong confidence, which I hope I captured.


Probably my favourite piece of the class, The pose was captured well, and I am happy with the mark-making. It also has a nice composition on the page. The clothes made a nice change and made things a bit more interesting.


After looking at the work of Fealing Lin, a Taiwanese watercolour artist who makes beautifully detailed paintings of people and landscapes. I decided to give watercolour a go.


Unfortunately, my practice was a bit of a mixed bag. I attempted to paint several quick poses set against a timer.

I then went back into some of the poses with fineliner.

Overall I appreciate the opportunity to brighten up a page with colour. but I don't think I utilised watercolour as well as I might have. had I used it in a more focused precise way.







9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page